Q A

ONTARIO CATHOLIC SUPERVISORY OFFICERS' ASSOCIATION

NOMINATION NOTICE

B.E. Nelligan Award Of Merit 2024

The Award

The B.E. Nelligan Award of Merit, instituted in 1985, "honors the person who, as the first Director of Education for the Metropolitan Separate School Board, exemplified the noblest qualities of leadership in Catholic Education".

The Award recognizes "A person who has made an outstanding and tangible contribution to Catholic Education in Ontario".

Presentation

A WALL PLAQUE with citation and previous recipients is located in the offices of the Association. An ETCHED GLASS AWARD with citation is presented to the recipient at the OCSOA Annual General Meeting.

Nomination Procedure

A letter of nomination shall include:

- a rationale describing the outstanding and tangible contribution of the nominee to Catholic Education in Ontario;
- a concise curriculum vitae of the nominee;
- the support of <u>three (3) Active OCSOA</u> Members;
- ➤ The Executive-Director must receive eligible nominations by **January 19, 2024**.

Selection Process

- The Executive-Director will forward the nominations to the Awards Committee;
- ➤ The Awards Committee shall provide a recommendation to the Board of Directors for ratification:
- the Board of Directors shall decide whether the Award is to be presented. A decision of the Board is final.

Submit nominations to:

John Kostoff, Executive-Director Ontario Catholic Supervisory Officers' Association 730 Courtneypark Dr. W. Mississauga, Ontario L5W 1L9

or johnkostoff@ocsoa.ca

Nomination deadline: JANUARY 20, 2024

B.E. NELLIGAN AWARD RECIPIENTS

1985	Frank Clifford
1986	Rolly Fobert
1986	Tom Reilly
1987	His Eminence, G.E. Cardinal Carter
1988	Dr. John Vintar
1989	Pat Brennan
1990	Guy O'Brien
1991	Frank Turner
1992	William Bolger
1992	James Hansen
1993	Dr. J.J. Flynn
1994	Peter Ferren
1995	Msgr. Dennis Murphy
1996	Paul J. Blake
1997	Vincenza Travale
1998	Tony Truscello
1999	Dr. W. Crossan
	Eleanor Shannon
2000	James McGirr
2001	Frank Musca
2002	John Stunt
2003	Patrick Dunne
2004	Bishop J. Doyle
2005	Sr. Joan Cronin
2006	John W. Watts
2007	John Wheatley
2008	Archbishop M. Gervais
	Edward J. Moore
2009	Kevin Kobus
2010	Greg McNally
2011	Lorne Keon
	Phil DiFrancesco
2012	Don Drone
2013	Roger Lawler
2014	Mary Anne O'Leary
	Fred Sweeney
2015	Dr. Robert Dixon
2016	Corrie Gicante
	Theresa Harris
2017	Fr. Frank Kavanagh, OMI
2018	Michael Pautler
2019	Michael Schmitt
2020/2021	Patricia Manson
2023	Thomas John Fauteux