ONTARIO CATHOLIC SUPERVISORY OFFICERS' ASSOCIATION



NOMINATION NOTICE

Distinguished Leadership Award 2023

The Award

The OCSOA Distinguished Leadership Award was instituted in 2004 and is based on three premises:

- It is important that the servant/leadership of administrators in the Catholic education system be acknowledged.
- The faith formation of children and quality educational experiences are determined primarily by the system's leadership who establish through the important work of teachers, with the support of the Catholic community, the learning environment and the character of the school system's programs.
- Children's attitudes toward learning and their perceptions of themselves as lifelong learners on the road to full Christian maturity are established in the school years.

Eligibility

Active members of OCSOA who have demonstrated outstanding ability and leadership in Catholic education at both the provincial and local school system levels.

Presentation

The Distinguished Leadership Award consists of a WALL PLAQUE with citation and previous recipients located in the offices of the Association and an ETCHED GLASS AWARD with citation presented to the recipient at the Annual General Meeting.

Submit nominations to:

John Kostoff, Executive-Director Ontario Catholic Supervisory Officers' Association 730 Courtneypark Dr. W. Mississauga, Ontario L5W 1L9

or johnkostoff@ocsoa.ca

Nomination deadline: JANUARY 20, 2023

Criteria for Consideration

The Nominee:

- is an active administrator in the year he/she is nominated for the award;
- is respected by students, colleagues, staff, parents and the community at large;
- provides leadership on committees or projects which focus on enhancing the interests and needs of students;
- has provided staff development at the provincial level;
- assumes an active role in his/her community, distinguishing himself/herself as a leader in parish, civic or humanitarian activities;
- ensures the Catholic mission of the schools is explained to parents and the community at large; sees himself/herself as a person who has been given a vocation to serve the community.

Selection Process

- The OCSOA Board of Directors may recognize a maximum of two (2) Distinguished Leadership Award winners per year, or at its discretion may identify no winner in a given year.
- The President will issue a call for nominations in November preceding the AGM.
- Three (3) Active OCSOA Members are required to support each nomination.
- Nominations must be received by the Executive-Director by January 20, 2023.
- The Executive-Director will forward the nominations to the Awards Committee.
- The Awards Committee shall provide a recommendation to the Board of Directors for ratification.
- Members of the Board of Directors and/or the Awards Committee who support the nomination of an OCSOA colleague for the Distinguished Leadership Award will declare a conflict of interest and absent themselves from the discussion and vote at the table when the recommendation for the Distinguished Leadership Award recipient is before either the Awards Committee or the Board. The Board of Directors shall decide if the award is to be presented. The decision of the Board is final.

DISTINGUISHED LEADERSHIP AWARD RECIPIENTS		
2004	Michael Baine Larry Langan	Ottawa Carleton CDSB Huron-Perth CDSB
2005	Patricia Amos	Hamilton-Wentworth CDSB
2006	Margaret Nelson	St. Clair CDSB
2007	Angelo Dilanni	Niagara CDSB
2008	Martha Dutrizac Allan Craig	Huron-Perth CDSB Kenora CDSB
2009	Roger Lawler	Waterloo CDSB
2010	James McCracken	Ottawa CSB
2011	John Kostoff	Dufferin-Peel CDSB
2012	Bruce MacPherson	Bruce-Grey CDSB
2013	Jackie Bajus Michael Pautler	Hamilton-Wentworth CDSB Halton CDSB
2014	Gail Robinson	Dufferin-Peel CDSB
2015	Julian Hanlon	Ottawa CSB
2016	Sheila McWatters	Dufferin-Peel CDSB
2017	Brian Beal Giacomo Corbacio	Simcoe Muskoka CDSB Halton CDSB
2018	Lorraine Naar	Halton CDSB
2019	Anna Marie Bitonti	Nipissing-Parry Sound CDSB
2020/2021	Tamara Nugent	Wellington CDSB